Journey

WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge

First of all, I’m going to break the “rules” on the photo challenge as I didn’t personally take these pictures (does scanning and uploading count)? It’s just that when I read this week’s challenge word, JOURNEY, I knew exactly what pictures represented that to me so beautifully.

Here are two extraordinary cowboys and their pictures are just a glimpse of their journey along the way. And what’s a cowboy post without some wit and wisdom from a few old cowpokes passed down through time.

I. A. Pick (Pickrel), My husband’s granddad and hero. He was the epitome of a hard-working rancher and an honorable man.


A LITTLE BIT OF COWBOY WISDOM
 (Authors unknown)

  • If you’re ridin’ ahead of the herd, take a look back every now and then to make sure it’s still there with ya.
  • Remember that silence is sometimes the best answer.
  • Only cows know why they stampede.
  • Always drink upstream from the herd.
  • Don’t interfere with something that ain’t botherin’ you none.
  • Words that soak into your ears are whispered, not yelled.
  • Live a good, honorable life. Then when you get older and think back, you’ll enjoy it a second time.

My husband’s father and friend, Glen Darlington. He was an awesome father-in-law who loved to beat me at cribbage. I miss him greatly.


 MORE COWBOY WISDOM
 (Authors still unknown)

  • Country fences need to be horse high, pig tight, and bull strong.
  • Life is not about how fast you run, or how high you climb, but how well you bounce.
  • Forgive your enemies. It messes with their heads.
  • Don’t corner something meaner than you.
  • The best sermons are lived, not preached.
  • Don’t squat with your spurs on.
  • Never miss a good chance to shut up.


May your day be blessed,

Becky Pickrel

*Each week WordPress.com provides a theme for creative inspiration. The challenge is for me to upload my photos based on my interpretation of the theme and post them to my blog. If you want to see what some fellow bloggers are posting for their photo challenges, just click the links below.

44 Responses to “Journey”

  1. Mike Hardisty

    Great pictures and I like the cowboy wisdom as well.

    Thanks for the pingback and comment about the city lights in Hong Kong. It’s my favourite city and I’m lucky that my son lives there so it gives me an excuse to visit regularly. Those city lights are still incredible, especially from the Kowloon side. But from the top of the peak at Stanley they are even more amazing…

    Reply
  2. Ink. [Anette]

    I love these pictures. An old photograph has patina and beauty, a digital photo will never be able to achieve. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. Sunshine

    I love your cowboy heritage collection and your cowboy wisdom especially, ‘Never miss a good chance to shut up.’ Thanks!

    Reply
  4. Kemi

    Waoo, those poems are keepers! Some of those quotes will follow me wherever I go! K

    Reply
    • woven decor

      Thanks Madhu. I don’t know why I haven’t gotten these pictures printed and hung up on the wall. They are two of my favorites.

      Reply
  5. elspethc

    I don’t wear spurs – still means a lot – need to be self-aware, a bit likr enlightened self-interest is good for others too
    I looked back at your let the land speak and it is beautiful – I have never been to Wyoming so thanks for showing me some

    Reply
    • woven decor

      It truly is a special state. Very diversified in the landscape; high mountain desert, mountains, plains, hills, lots of wide open space. I love it here. Have lived in Wyoming since 1979. Thank you for the nice comment.

      Reply
  6. Lorri

    I have read so many of these over and over….gotta say….lots of wisdom in some of them there words….;)
    Love the pics!

    Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS