Pink Pink Pink

It’s still February so I thought I’d bring back a color fully associated with this month: PINK.

My husband says there is no such thing as an ugly Hawaiian shirt because it is a matter of personal preference for both the wearer and observer. Pink is one of those colors that tends to evoke a strong reaction based solely on personal preference.

Here’s a little color psychology for you: Pink induces feelings of calm, protection, warmth and nurture. This color can be used to lessen irritation and aggression as it is connected with feelings of love. Red is sometimes associated with sexuality, whereas pink is associated with unselfish love.

Pink can be cute, classy, elegant, understated, overstated, comforting, cool, warm, playful or downright appalling (personal opinion again).

Pink is not new to the home decor scene (the 50s had some serious pink and black tile and bath fixtures going on) and while color inspiration ebbs and flows through the years, it does seem that pink has had a bit of a revival again: Maybe in part to the Breast Cancer Awareness campaigns. 

Pink is showing up in every room of the house; appliances, walls, fixtures and accessories. And while definitely leaning towards the feminine side, pink can also connect with the masculine.

According to House Beautiful, BENJAMIN MOORE CORAL GABLES 2010-40 is considered a color men love. “I’ve done a lot of rooms for men in paneled wood and leather. Then I’ll highlight the back of a bookcase with a bit of lively coral. Men like that color because it reminds them of something to drink. Add an animal print — Stark’s Ocelot carpet. Super-masculine and comfortable. And my theory is that a woman looks her best in a room that fits a man like a glove. Think Grace Kelly and Jimmy Stewart in Rear Window. Wow.” –Keith Irvine

While my husband didn’t fuss overly much about the color I chose for our ranch bedroom, it did take him some time to adjust to the color. Sherwin Williams Sashay Sand (aka PINK – according to my husband) is in the brown family. It does have a hint of pink undertone but is warm and  neutral, leaning more towards a fleshy beige (ok that sounds kind of ugly, but it’s not, I promise). The majority of the men who have seen our room (and many have because we had an open house) have made it a point to say they like the color and in their words, “Don’t find it offensive at all.” I chose the color because of the picture I used as the main focal point (look for that post next week).

Here are some rooms for you to check out and make your own decision when it comes to pink.

Presidio Heights Residence
neopolitan-pink-kitchen contemporary kitchen
Kitchen, bath, office contemporary kitchen
Crystal Cabinetry traditional kitchen
The big bathroom eclectic bathroom
Girls Rooms with Jack & Jill Bath traditional kids
|| C O B U R N - A R C H I T E C T U R E || traditional bedroom
Form eclectic bedroom
Mercer House traditional living room
PINK – Love it or hate it?
Becky Pickrel.

5 Responses to “Pink Pink Pink”

  1. Holly Peters

    I love all things pink! Anyone who knows me knows this. My husband is not a fan, and although he does compromise with me on most things he sort of draws the line on me decorating in pink. If I were a single woman I would have a house full of pink things, but that’s obviously not the case so at this time in my life I get to enjoy my daughters bedroom ( a blessing after decorating for my 4 boys rooms!) and my dressing room. I love all of the pictures though! Pink is a beautiful color…except for on that hideous Hawaiian shirt! Lol!

    Reply
    • woven decor

      I love pink too. When I was pregnant with our second son I was convinced he was a girl (no ultrasound – wishful thinking). I had painted his dresser and changing table pink and painted a really cute pink ribbon border around the whole room. I was just finishing up the border when I felt God speak to me that I was going to have a son. My first thought was, “Oh well, I’ll have to repaint.” No joke, Clint was out mowing the lawn around the same time and felt God speak to his heart that we would be having another son. His first thought was, “Uhh Ohh, don’t tell Becky. She thinks we are having a girl.” 🙂

      Reply
  2. Maggie L R

    I love that bathroom. I love pink, or perhaps the rosier tones. I remember when my stepfather died, my mom redecorated the living room using pink, including a pink flocked christmas tree… she went all out and it looked great.

    Reply
  3. Colline

    I find pink a restful colour. I find that the way it has been used to decorate in some of these pictures very interesting. I know my daughter would love the bedroom!

    Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

