It’s In The News

Each year in the US, more than 2 billion books, 350 million magazines and 24 billion newspapers are published. This equates to around 71 million tons of paper and paperboard. Fortunately a healthy percentage of this product is created through the recycling of paper.

Being an avid follower of Pinterest I saw some crafty, rolled paper ideas which got my brain rolling….rolled….rolling…ok only funny to me :). When I was a little girl, we’d do art projects in school by taking long strips of construction paper and rolling them up tightly into little – not sure what they were, just little bunches of rolled up paper (I must be tired as I write this as I’m not sounding overly professional at the moment). Then we’d glue those little rolled thingies onto paper making mosaic pictures that had a nice dimensional effect if you consider Elmer’s glue dripping all over the place a nice anything. Will it discredit me in the world of decorating if I were to confess I knew what Elmer’s Glue tasted like?

Ok, all witticism aside (you can give me credit for that word –  it’s awesome), back to using recycled paper in decor: here are some creatively unique ideas for recycled print.

Newsy Puli Dog eclectic kids toys
I just walked into a store yesterday and saw this little guy sitting on a dog bed. I had to touch him because he looked so soft. Ehh, recycled newspaper isn’t soft and cuddly. Just saying.
If you have the time and energy, consider covering a wall with newspaper or torn out pages of your favorite magazine.
This wallpaper is actually an eco-friendly wallpaper made from recycled newspaper.
Recycled, rolled-paper baskets are actually quite pretty.
I’ve used rolled-up magazines to keep my boots upright while stored in the closet, but this little bench idea was a new one to  me. It’s actually quite a clever use of magazines.
A mosaic is a bold  focal point in a room and this one is genuinely stunning.
In the world of decorating, monograms and initials are a very personalized accessory showing up in pretty  much any space. This initial was created using a wood M, then covered with rolled print trimmed to fit onto the letter. Brilliant.
A very artistic approach to a piece of furniture created out of old books. I’m not sure if it would be that comfy, and you wouldn’t want to spill your coffee on your chair or it might get soggy, but it is a rather unique idea.
I’ll be rolling along now.
Becky Pickrel

13 Responses to “It’s In The News”

  1. Wendy Mokler

    I would love to know where you found the recycled rolled paper baskets. I purchased one years ago at a local store in Santa Barbara but they cannot get them anymore. They make the best toy baskets for babies and toddlers.

    Reply
  2. Anne Camille

    Love the look of that chair. Makes me think of the phrase: “Curl up with a good book”. But I bet it would not be comfy at all!

    Reply
  3. newpillowbook

    The dog and the baskets are wonderful – but I agree with Angeline M. about the chair. In my house it would have holes in it within a day.

    Reply
  4. Angeline M

    That chair would not work for me….I’d be pulling books out to read and leaving gaping holes here and there.

    Reply
    • woven decor

      It is a rather interesting concept. I’d love to try it out and see if it was actually comfortable. But you are right – it’d probably end up with weird gaps as I pulled out the books to read 🙂

      Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

