Change

Photo challenges are interesting to me as I always have to do this little inner contemplation: To be literal or figurative? Serious or funny? Should I let the photos speak for themselves or be a bit more explanatory in the telling? For some reason this particular challenge seemed like it needed a story. Either that or I just had a lot of words stored up today and this is how I’m going to get rid of some of them.

cushions

I spent yesterday making some new cushions for my house, one of those being a back pillow for the kitchen bench. I figured I’d buy a roll of batting and stuff it but sometimes waiting isn’t my greatest asset so I grabbed an ancient feather pillow that came from grandma’s house from the back of the closet. I’m not even sure why I still had it. You know the kind; probably so old that to think about all the drool and greasy heads it had seen through its many years of service would only serve to gross one out (in fact, typing that kind of conjured up some nasty images). But, like grandma who probably stuffed and re-stuffed pillows with said feathers on many an occasion, I chose to do the same.

IMG_0003I have to admit, once I cut into the old pillow and reached in for a handful of feathers, I had a momentary hesitation. I just had another image of something a wee bit creepy crawly living in all of that, umm, old fluff. But once I got past another nasty, visual image, I plunged in with great gusto and grabbed a fist full of old feathers. I also admit that I wondered about who had plucked them all and how they had washed them (I really hope they had washed them) before using them that very first time. Being a very sensory person, I did smell them (think tiny, itty-bitty feathers, inhaling, nostrils, you get it…).

IMG_0004

So there I was shoving handfuls of old feathers from an ancient pillow into my pretty, new casing and the mess became almost comical. I couldn’t maintain any type of control. It was like they had little tiny wings and chose to fly (bad bit of humor, sorry….). Everywhere. My dogs even had them stuck to their coats. It seemed like such a simple, easy idea at the beginning but I wasn’t really prepared for just how annoying it would be to take something old and change it into something new.

IMG_0005

My inner voice and I were dialoging about the stupidity of stuffing a new pillow with old feathers and I had an epiphany on change. My husband has often said, “I don’t mind change, you just go first.” If we are honest with ourselves and everyone around us, change is not easy. In fact it’s a little like family; you get the good, the bad, the unexpected, the beautiful, the unnecessary, the messy, the whole package. And like family, change may or may not be in our control. The question is, what do we do with it when we are in the midst of it? To say we need to wholeheartedly embrace change may sound noble but it probably is not realistic. But to accept change, to choose to become stronger through the process, to emerge into something better helps keep our perspective positive. *Romans 12:2 says “…..be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”  The Message translation says, “Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out.” To be transformed is to be changed.

IMG_0006

It took a while to get all the feathers in and the opening whip-stitched closed. I got out the lint roller and cleaned all the tiny feathers off the outside of the pillow only to realize that my fabric is much too open-weaved to use as a feather pillow. They are poking their ancient little feather-heads out everywhere. At first I was kind of grumpy about it, especially after all the work, but in the long run it’s really just an “Oh well.” We’ll adjust and adapt, be it picking feathers off of our backs when we are done sitting up against it or we’ll throw it on the floor when we are sitting at the bench and put it back when we are done. Either way, I’m not remaking the pillow. It’s a nice change for the kitchen, and it is a great little reminder to me personally to never change an old feather pillow into a new one….I’ll buy a roll of batting instead.

scripture

signature

Each week WordPress.com provides a theme for creative inspiration. The challenge is for me to upload my photo(s) based on my interpretation of the theme and post them to my blog. If you want to see what fellow bloggers are posting for their photo challenges, just click the links below or go to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/04/12/weekly-photo-challenge-change/

 

11 Responses to “Change”

  1. pix & kardz

    what a brilliant post – completely understand your large collection of words that were stored up within you, begging to be posted. 🙂
     
    enjoyed the humour and the insights. thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. fgassette

    Thank you for sharing your experience of change. Your description is so vivid I feel like I am blowing feathers out of my mouth. Surely a change I didn’t expect coming when I first opened your post. 🙂 Great example of change with unexpected results.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

