Dream Closet

I currently have a large dressing area with the typical built-in closets circa 1980. While I’m not complaining because I know closet space in a home is always a premium, I would just like the whole area gutted and turned into a custom walk-in closet area. The existing closets are generous but there seems to be an abundance of wasted space due to the configuration of how the closets are built into the walls and have bi-fold doors. Currently my shoes are all over the closet floors, stacked on top of each other and I dream of beautiful shelves to display them along with my tidily folded sweaters and t-shirts (ok, the “tidy” part may be a bit more of a fantasy).

My carpenter brother and I have had rather extensive conversations about transforming the dressing area into a custom walk-in closet complete with a frosted glass pocket door, it’s just a matter of finding the time in his busy schedule to get him to fly out and work for his sister. In the meantime, I’ve been gathering photos of closets and I’m dreaming of the day……

Source: houzz.com via Becky on Pinterest

Source: weheartit.com via Becky on Pinterest

Source: coreasotropa.files.wordpress.com via Becky on Pinterest

Source: houzz.com via Becky on Pinterest

Source: houzz.com via Becky on Pinterest

Source: houzz.com via Donna on Pinterest

Hopefully one of these days I’ll be able to do a before / during / after post of my closet project.

Becky Pickrel

11 Responses to “Dream Closet”

  1. fgassette

    I’ll take any one of the above, clothes and shoes included, of course. (smile) Thanks for sharing.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Reply
  2. Kelly R. - Interiors For Families

    Thanks for the great ideas! Perfect timing – we’re building a new house and I nixed a bedroom in order to have a sizable master closet. I think some of these would remind me I have too many shoes that I don’t like :).

    Reply
    • woven decor

      I have this mentality that if I have more functional space I’ll be ore organized. Has nothing to do with just plain ol’ discipline πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. rick

    5th one down looks like it would work for your layout with window at the end.

    Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

