Dance Into Design

Tonight began the 9th season of So You Think You Can Dance. While I love all the singing competitions I always look forward to this show. Not only is it thoroughly entertaining to watch, but I am always overwhelmed by the sheer strength, discipline and beauty of those who dance.

Paying homage to such a stunning art, here are a few decorating and design ideas inspired by the beauty of dance.

Orange walls are awash with soft shadows from the graceful cut-out shapes in the lanterns. These fixtures have a beautiful, organic dancing flow to their shapes.

Bright, whimsical and charming are just a few adjectives to sum up  both the little dancer and this darling patchwork settee.

Flamenco is a sexy, intense dance and nothing embodies the words sexy and intense like the color red. How sweet would it be to sit in such a lush, seductive environment watching favorite movies.

Light dances and shimmers gracefully across the iridescent tile while the oval tub lends graceful lines to the space.

Traditional beauty defines this elegant bedroom in hues of neutral ivory. The crystal chandelier adds a definite charm to this classic space bringing it on pointe.

This bedroom has a masculine, intense quality yet avoids being too hard by the addition of the cut-out headboard and gold sunburst mirror.

East Indian textiles add wonderful texture to this room creating an inviting, visually interesting space. And the spiciness of the colors is just fun.

This minimalistic kitchen has very defined, linear lines which are visually strong, yet the kitchen still feels approachable.

Becky Pickrel

8 Responses to “Dance Into Design”

  1. Judy

    You are amazing! I love how you related dance and design. The results are stunning and absolutely gorgeous! I’m giving you a ticket to Las Vegas! 😉
    You have such a feel for beautiful design. I just wish I had time to hang out here in your blog 24/7!
    BTW: I LIVE for SYTYCD to come every summer! It’s my favorite dance show! Like you, I love to see the strength, the determination and the awe-inspiring beauty.

    Reply
    • woven decor

      I’m ON MY WAY. Lets do musicals too while I’m there 🙂 Honestly, I’ve been so busy that my little blog is feeling a bit neglected, but I guess that is summer. Thank you for the encouragement. You are very sweet.

      Reply
    • woven decor

      I am in awe when I watch the beauty and grace of a dancer. Thank you for catching what I was attempting to do 🙂

      Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

