Today

WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge

This week’s challenge is the word TODAY. The only stipulation to the challenge is the photo has to be taken today, not something previously shot and filed away. So while I have a couple of great phone photos from yesterday when I was originally going to post for the challenge, they aren’t useable now, which leaves me sitting here at my desk, camera in hand wondering what to take a picture of and I’m not finding an ounce of cleverness or inspiration.

I put the camera down, grab my phone and as quickly as I can, without leaving my desk chair, I photo-chronicle a bit of my morning. It is today; now; present moment: Nothing earth shattering, revelational or even creative, just today.

Working on the challenge post, wording, re-wording, wondering why such a simple post should take up so much time.

Should I take pictures with the camera or phone? My phone wins simply because in the moment it seems to be the more convenient device to use.

I needed to stop taking pictures and text a bit with my dad over next week’s trip to Portland for my nephew’s graduation.

Manny pushing my chair aside so he can get to his spot under my desk. He always looks like he is the one being inconvenienced.

If I am going to finish this post I need more coffee. Now; today; present moment. Please.

I’m sure if I wait, take my time and put some creativity into it, by day’s end I could have something really beautiful to upload but then I think about what today is: Today is made up of continuous, fluid moments. I call it life.

Becky Pickrel

P.S. I had to come back in and add one more picture after I hit publish: Another moment this morning.

Today I published my 50th post.

Each week WordPress.com provides a theme for creative inspiration. The challenge is for me to upload my photos based on my interpretation of the theme and post them to my blog. If you want to see what fellow bloggers are posting for their photo challenges, just click the links below or go to http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/weekly-photo-challenge-today/

  1. Photo Challenge: Today walking to nowhere | La Mandraka
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Monochrome
  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Lonely Travelog
  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « I Spy with My Idiosyncratic Eye …
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Back Seat View
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | FLYNN’s WordPress Posts
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Figments of a Dutchess
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Four Deer Oak
  9. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « VeehCirra
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Wind Against Current
  11. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Wanderings of an Elusive Mind
  12. Weekly Photo Challange : Today | My Own Room in Cartoonish | Blog Kemaren Siang
  13. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Coffee time with Claudia
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge: TODAY! | Tay in Europe
  15. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Bebe’s Kitchen
  16. Today.. « piran café
  17. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Disorderly Chickadee
  18. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today (Memories from Class of 2012) « 3rdculturechildren
  19. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « The Other Courtney
  20. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « The Urge To Wander
  21. 1st June 2012 – Weekly Photo Challenge:Today – The Guitarist « My 2012 Photo Challenge
  22. A Meditative Journey with Saldage
  23. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | mothergrogan
  24. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today – USA « Wanderlustress
  25. Today: Rainy Day Rockaway . . . Foul Play? « Spirit Lights The Way
  26. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Cee’s Life Photography Blog
  27. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Imperfect Happiness
  28. Today: Caffeinated Inspiration (Weekly Photo Challenge) « aparnanairphotography
  29. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « artistisk
  30. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Rois
  31. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Carltonaut
  32. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | colderweather
  33. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « It’s Just Me
  34. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « acieartikulasi
  35. Parenting Issues « I Spy with My Idiosyncratic Eye …
  36. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Spiritual World Traveler
  37. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « The Sasu Post
  38. Weekly photo challenge:today « The potato blog
  39. The Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « the thirdeyeworld
  40. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Pink Wedges
  41. Weekly photo challenge, today | A Number of Things
  42. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Creativity Aroused
  43. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Ruth E Hendricks Photography
  44. WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: TODAY « Francine In Retirement
  45. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Pathfinder: MotherWifeStudentWorker
  46. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « The Neophyte Photographer
  47. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « « Wilderness Escapades Wilderness Escapades
  48. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Healthcare Updates
  49. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « Gain Without Pain’s Training Blog
  50. Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | efahmi.info

31 Responses to “Today”

    • woven decor

      I bounce back and forth between a few grab and go cameras but I have a nice DSL that takes beautiful pictures, I just don’t know how to fully enjoy what it can do as a camera. I have MUCH to learn 🙂

      Reply
  1. fgassette

    Enjoyed yor selections to the TODAY challenge. Thank you for listing my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    Reply
  2. Angeline M

    Great post Becky. This definitely has a “today” flow to it. And, yes, Manny has that look in his eyes like “I’m waiting….move”.

    Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

