Down

When I was a little girl I took piano lessons for a while which helped give me a basic knowledge of music theory. But like any kid who would rather be playing instead of practicing, there reached a point where I was done with piano lessons. I’m pretty sure my parents got tired of my fussing and whining and lack of desire to work at learning such a beautiful instrument.

I had no ability to look down the road into my future, just the moment I was living in; pretty typical of most children. When my dad said, “Someday you are going to wish you knew how to play,” I was guilty of rolling my eyes. Of course in hindsight (which we all know is 20/20), had I known how important a role music would play in my life, just maybe I would have spent those extra 20 or 30 minutes a day practicing. Then again, probably not.

I have discovered that it is never too late to learn something new and although I have a really long ways to go, I am (re)learning the piano and progressing well. I also can look down the road just a bit farther now.

Becky Pickrel

P.S. Would love to hear what you think concerning the word DOWN.

5 Responses to “Down”

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

