Every Nook And Cranny

There are certain words or phrases that when I read or hear them, create an immediate visceral response in me. Sometimes I can pull my mental file drawer open and find the reason for the response. Other times I have a flit of a memory that tends to hover just out of reach and I am unable to firmly grasp it. Then there are times when that instinctive, emotional response awakens and I find absolutely no reason for it.

The idiom, “Every nook and cranny,” defined asย every small, out-of-the-way place, is one of those phrases that awakens some sort of weird, happy reaction in me. Maybe it’s just how the words sound (kind of warm and fuzzy), maybe it is a vestige of some childhood memory: I get a tiny flashback of my great grandmother’s house in West Virginia. Maybe it comes from some of the adventure stories I read when I was a little girl; who knows.

When decorating, little nooks and crannies are ideal spots to create much-needed storage. Or depending on the size, use a little nook or cranny to define and create a private, personal spaces.

Take a look around your space. You never know what little nook or cranny is waiting to be filled.

Have a happy day.

Becky Pickrel

8 Responses to “Every Nook And Cranny”

  1. Cassandra Davis

    At firsts the two word nook and cranny make me think of cleaning everyone of them ๐Ÿ™‚ but when you put them like those pictures I just want rest in one! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love hiding I get super excited and I feel like sneaky like a spy or something….good pictures deary!

    Reply
    • woven decor

      You are too cute. Unfortunately I have a lot of little nooks and crannies that need cleaned and now I’m going to have that stuck in my head, LOL.

      Reply
    • woven decor

      I think you should win the world’s kindest blogger commenter award. You always take a moment to say something about a post. Thank you Madhu.

      Reply
  2. Angeline M

    The term nook and cranny also gives me a warm feeling, though I must say I like nooks better than crannys ๐Ÿ™‚
    Great photos, as always!

    Reply

I appreciate your feedback.

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

